Sprache/Language:

Sprache/Language:

The ceramic injection molding process is shown below in graphic form:

From powder to feedstock (selection / preparation / compounding)

The ceramic powder is selected according to the functional requirements of the finished component. By mixing different ceramic powders, it is also possible to change the material-specific property profile and adjust it to the application. The ceramic powder or powder mixture is then mixed with wax or thermoplastic-based components (binder systems), homogenized and granulated. This feedstock can be plasticized by means of a binder system and can therefore be used in an injection molding machine. The necessary melt temperature is determined by the binder system.

Injection molding

The plasticized feedstock is injected under pressure into the injection mold. In the ceramic injection mold, the material returns to its solid state by cooling and is removed as a finished part after opening the ceramic injection mold. The cavity of the ceramic injection molding tool determines the shape and surface structure of the finished part. By means of appropriate tool technology, 3-dimensional geometries can be mapped in one process step.

Debinding

The aim of the debinding process is a complete removal of the organic binder without influencing the component geometry and the chemical purity of the material. Depending on the feedstock, different debinding strategies are required.

  • thermal
  • catalytic table
  • solvents

Sintering

The debinded parts are sintered at the material-specific temperature (e.g.: Al2O3 - approx. 1,650°C; ZrO2 approx. 1,400°C). During this process, the ceramic grains grow together, close the pores created by debinding and form a closed, dense structure. The shrinkage that occurs (between 16 -28% depending on the material) is taken into account in the tool design in advance. An adapted temperature control and suitable sintering supports or sintering aids determine a high dimensional stability and component quality.

Mechanical processing (option)

Ideally the components are used "as fired". However, for functional (e.g. polished surface, extremely sharp edges, etc.) or dimensional reasons, mechanical reworking may be necessary. Basically, all mechanical processing methods such as surface or cylindrical grinding, vibratory grinding, drilling, lapping, honing... are possible.

read more - Ceramic injection molding tools >

Sprache/Language:

Sprache/Language:

Der Keramikspritzgussprozess

Vom Pulver zum Feedstock (Auswahl/ Aufbereitung/ Compoundierung)

Entsprechend den Funktionsanforderungen an das fertige Bauteil wird das keramische Pulver ausgewählt. Durch Mischen von verschiedenen Keramikpulvern ist es darüber hinaus möglich das materialspezifische Eigenschaftsprofil zu ändern und an die Applikation auszurichten. Das keramische Pulver oder Pulvergemisch wird dann mit wachs- oder thermoplastbasierenden Komponenten (Bindersysteme) gemischt, homogenisiert und granuliert. Dieser Feedstock ist mittels Bindersystem plastifizierbar und folglich in einer Spritzgießmaschine verwendbar. Die notwendige Massetemperatur wird durch das Bindersystem bestimmt.

Spritzgießen

Der plastifizierte Feedstock wird unter Druck in das Spritzgießwerkzeug eingespritzt. Im Keramikspritzgießwerkzeug geht der Werkstoff durch Abkühlung wieder in den festen Zustand über und wird nach dem Öffnen des Keramikspritzgießwerkzeuges als Fertigteil entnommen. Der Hohlraum (Kavität) des Keramikspritzgießwerkzeuges bestimmt dabei die Form und die Oberflächenstruktur des fertigen Teiles. Mittels entsprechender Werkzeugtechnik können dabei 3-dimensionale Geometrien in einem Prozessschritt abgebildet werden.

Entbindung

Das Ziel der Entbindung ist ein vollständiges Herauslösen des organischen Binders ohne Beeinflussung von der Bauteilgeometrie und der chemischer Reinheit des Werkstoffs. Je nach Feedstock sind verschiedene Entbindungsstrategien erforderlich.

  • Thermisch
  • Katalytisch
  • Lösemittel

Sintern

Die entbundene Teile werden bei der werkstoffspezifischen Temperatur (z.B.: Al2O3 –ca. 1.650°C; ZrO2 ca. 1.400°C) gesintert. Dabei wachsen die keramischen Körner zusammen, schließen die durch das Entbunden entstandenen Poren und bilden ein geschlossenes, dichtes Gefüge. Der dabei auftretende Schwund (materialabhängig zwischen 16 -28%) wird im Vorfeld in die Werkzeugkonstruktion berücksichtigt. Eine angepasste Temperaturführung und geeignete Sinterunterlagen oder auch Sinterhilfsmittel bestimmen eine hohe Maßhaltigkeit und Bauteilqualität.

Mechanische Bearbeitung (Option)

Idealerweise werden die Bauteile „as fired“ verwendet. Jedoch kann ausfunktionellen (z.B. Oberfläche poliert; extreme Kantenschärfe ...) oder maßlichen Gründen eine mechanische Nacharbeit erforderlich sein. Grundsätzlich sind alle mechanischen Bearbeitungsmethoden wie Flach-oder Rundschleifen, Gleitschleifen, Bohren, Läppen, Honen... möglich.

mehr – Keramikspritzgießwerkzeuge >